Tuesday July 21: As Sexias to Melide (9.5 mi)

Ana:  We spent our last night on the primitivo. What a glorious ending to a demanding journey.  Out in the middle of nowhere in a humble farmhouse we found paradise. Carlos wrote about this in the blog yesterday. I will add some photos to relive this wonderful night.

imageDinner

image

imageimage

Breakfast was delightful with a full spread of meat, cheese, toast, fruit, and cereal.  It was difficult to leave this morning, but we are thankful for this slice of heaven on the Camino.

We had a short walk today because yesterday was so long.  Weather was perfect and all we had to do is conquer our last hill.

image

Not a problem, on the other side we could see Melide in the distance.

image

Our first morning stop was at a bar where we got our first taste of the mass humanity to come.  I watched several groups wearing very small packs and couldn’t figure out how they could carry enough for four days.  Upon arriving at our hotel, the answer was evident.  By the check in desk were 50 suitcases all with transport tags. They had sent their clothes ahead.  You mean, I didn’t have to lug this backpack all over Spain?  Actually, I did.  Those doing the Norte and primitivo don’t have as much access to the transport services, so we all carried full packs.

At the bar, we were watching 2 dogs guard the area and devour the scraps.  Junk yard dogs who love boccadillos.  They were a couple and had 2 puppies.  The hostess brought out the pups for us to see.  Momma watched Carola very carefully.

image

image

Arriving in Melide today we went in search of the hotel.  We were all turned around and saw pilgrims everywhere.  Time for a consult.

image

Found  the hotel and did our usual cleanup, then off to find supper.

After food we visited the church of Iglasis in Melide.

image

We watched hoards of people arrive, on foot, bicycle, and horseback.  After the last 35 days of solitude, we are in shock.  The Cailfornia Cousins warned us, but there is nothing like being here.

image

We plan on leaving early tomorrow.

Carlos: What do you want to do tomorrow?

Ana: How about taking a long walk with a lot of other people?

Just another day on the Camino.

CC: There was a bet placed yesterday in the comments that I would make sure all the Frances pilgrims knew that I had accomplished the Primitivo. After reading those comments, I submitted a comment that said you all would lose that bet, and I would explain why today. So here’s why: The camino is not a distance. It is not a contest. It has nothing to do with anyone else. It derives whatever meaning it has from the individual doing it. I wanted to do a lengthy one, because I felt that it would have more meaning to me if I was out of my normal element for awhile. We collectively chose the del Norte/Primitivo as a consequence of schedule conflicts and pilgrim density. At no time did I pick the Primitivo because of its reputation or difficulty. I just felt that it would be nice to go through some mountains verses stay near the coast the entire route (as the del Norte does). While there were difficult parts, I’m certain it was no more difficult than hiking in 109 degree temps. And that’s what the folks were doing for weeks on the Frances. So you lose the bet for two reasons: what others decide to do for their camino has no relevance to my camino, and even if it did the Frances was tougher during this time period.

9 thoughts on “Tuesday July 21: As Sexias to Melide (9.5 mi)

  1. Carlos! I was really just joking yesterday, and I hope that you didn’t take it personally. I’m really in awe of all of you and have really enjoyed hearing about everything that you’re going through. It sounds like it’s been a very introspective journey. Can’t wait to hear what the next few days hold.

    Ben

    Like

  2. First off, I want to apologize to Chuck for my part in yesterday’s teasing. I really meant no harm. Of course the Camino and how one approaches it must be a totally personal and self-illuminating experience. And truthfully I can only imagine that since I lack the experience altogether. I simply was extrapolating from our shared experiences of boasting while playing bocce against each other. Nothing more than that. Sorry good buddy! I was wrong.

    Secondly, I am naturally annoyed by crowds. That’s been me as long as I can remember. I can just imagine how in some way I would be disappointed to return from such a stretch of time away from the usual everyday buzz and bustle. I’d be challenged to examine my abilities of sharing and acceptance for sure. Yet another facet of the Camino I did not anticipate.

    Like

  3. The tour is winding down, but the real reward is still ahead — two days ahead. And now you will have the experience of being part of a herd. While this has been a real pilgrimage for you it has truly been a virtual pilgrimage for us. We look forward to the next two days.
    Dennis

    Like

    • Dennis,
      We’re ready to come home. But I have to tell you how much we’ve enjoyed your blogs throughout this journey. Really funny, especially about Hillary. That drew some interesting comments from other bloggers.

      Like

  4. Carlos, sorry about the teasing…all in jest, not meant any other way.

    Sounds like you guys chose the correct route anyway with the crowds you are now experiencing as you merge with other routes.

    Best of luck with the push to the final.

    Buen Camino

    Like

  5. Carlos, Ana, Carola, and Yudi — Congratulations! Inspiring, moving, and reflective trip (and blog accounting) that we looked forward to reading each day. Just returned home today after being out of the country for 12 days. Usually read your adventures late each night after we finished our trek through Ireland to our next destination, and, of course, wifi dependent in our stop locations. Sue and I had an incredible time with the Christy, Blake, Megan, Abby, and baby Adeline on our journey. It was a remarkable family trip and we look forward to hearing more personally about your adventures. We enjoyed our trip so much that we are already talking about a couple of additional journeys in the next few years — one to Ireland and Scotland and the other to the Mediterranean. We ran into a friend in the Ft Walton airport that was boarding the plane we arrived on back to Atlanta and then to France — she was headed overseas for 105 days and planning to do some of the Camino as well. We mentioned your blog and she was going to start reading it when she arrived in Atlanta. Looking forward to seeing you in Niceville soon! Hugs — TSMac

    Like

  6. We saw the botafumeiro at today’s noon pilgrim mass. Movies and videos do not even come close to the experience in person. We got there at 11:00 and we’re able to get a great seat on the side. You want to be on the side for the botafumeiro. The best seats are in the section closest to the front of the cathedral. That way you can see the priest and others at the various podiums. The other section blocks your view. You’ll understand when you get in there. I hope I see you four laying on the ground in the main plaza looking up at the cathedral. It’s an amazing feeling. Enjoy your last day 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment