Saturday, July 25: Santiago.

Yudi:  Good morning dear blog followers.   An apology for no blog yesterday, lo ciento.

I want to revisit my beginning blog entry where I discuss moving into the 4 th quarter of my life and how appreciative I am for the wonderful life I have been blessed with.  I am blessed, and so very appreciative of all the love and prayers which have accompanied this pilgrimage.  Thank you.

No surprise to anyone that I found the Camino to be extremely challenging physically, emotionally and spiritually.  As I have come to know that is the Camino’s purpose, to be a vector of time that one ponders one’s life and path.  Many days I seriously questioned my fortitude and abilities- but my fellow pilgrims and family did not question these.   At these times they encouraged, coaxed and challenged me to pull deep from within, because I had what I needed.  To me they are heroes.  What a wonderful family, both my family of origin and my wonderful husband, sons, daughters and grandchildren!

And then the reward.  Coming into Santiago was incredible- full of energy, people, music- bagpipes and drums,   There were pilgrims everywhere in different stages is reality that this walk is done and here we are standing in front this ancient Catholic Cathedral in this spiritual pathway.

After depositing our packs and showering we entered the Cathedral.  I would like to think I know my churches after a trip 11 years ago where my husband and I motorcycled throughout the eastern part of Spain visiting churches as well as two trips to the Vatican in Rome- but this Cathedral is nirvana.  I was speechless and joyfull to be in this holy shrine.  I felt as though something very deep, very primal was being fed.

6 masses and one vespers later I am unchanged in my belief that Santiago is truly a special, spiritual experience that is unparralled.   My heart is singing.  Last night the botafuneiro flew for only the pilgrims- once in a lifetime experience.   The Camino was a spiritual gift

I will never forget this Catholic Cathedral, the priests and sisters, the choirs and sitting with my fellow pilgrims and loving every moment.  And yes, walking the Camino was worth this reward.

Ana: Since we entered Santiago my mind has been on overload.   So many sights, sounds, and feelings swirling around my brain.  Meeting friends from the journey and making new friends at mass.  An incredible event that has left me speechless.

We have walked the streets of the old city, dined in small cafes, shopped for the first time( no worry now about extra weight to carry), shared stories with many others, and marveled at this holy place.

Mass was held twice a day, we have been to six very different services. From the priests and nuns, the choirs, and organ, the awesome cathedral, to the swinging of the botafumeiro, everything has been as close to heaven on earth as I have ever seen.  All this for the pilgrims!

Thousands of people have descended upon this church this weekend for the feast of St James.  It has been a party atmosphere with rock bands and full orchestras, fireworks, and the strangest sight(for me) of kegs being rolled in front of the church to set up in a side court for the party.  Since I am having a hard time describing this, I will insert some pictures and let them tell the tale.

image image image image image image

We ended today at a pilgrim mass and are now tucking in.  Early flight to Madrid and on the way home.

I bring home with me the greatest memories of time shared with family, hard work and laughter, and most important, at the center of it all is the love of God.

I remember something John told me before he died, “live everyday, do your best, and go to sleep at night in peace.  I am there, I am at peace.

12 thoughts on “Saturday, July 25: Santiago.

  1. Thank you for sharing such reinvigorating and heartfelt perspectives and experiences.
    Safe journey home and may your spiritual insights last and last and last.
    In nomine Patris et Filii et Spiritus Sancti. Amen.

    Like

  2. Wow. I feel kind of like I’ve just read the last chapter of a novel. But, I hope not. I suspect more insights will follow, because that’s why you did this, and that’s why we’ve been following your trip…we want to hear those insights. Safe travel home, Kennedys. God Bless you.

    Like

  3. I can’t get over the beautiful rays in the picture of Ana. It was almost as if God had just showered his rays of blessings on you. I too felt like this was the end of the novel I so look forward to each day. Dios de Bendiga

    Like

  4. Thanks for sharing your thoughts & insights of your journey—both personal & spiritual. It has been a privilege to follow you on your “Way”. Carlos & Carola—look forward to seeing you on the streets of Bluewater Bay!!!! Safe travels home!!!!!

    Like

  5. I have been following this blog since it stated. I had seen the movie The Way and told my sister I so wanted to do a pilgrimage. I live in Rockingham County and my sister was a nurse at Morehead and knew John and Ana. She (Sande Austin, now Sande Long) had started reading the blog and told me about it. I would love to hear how you planned your journey. I have done backpacking on the AT but am a newbi hiker. Am retired and have the time. Your blog has been an inspiration. Both the beauty of the walk and the people you meet and the person you become, what an amazing story. Thank you for sharing it with all of us. Beckie Knight Stoneville, NC

    Like

  6. Thank you all for sharing this event. I was looking forward to your blog every day. Congratulations to all of you to finish this pilgrimage and what a wonderful finish. I love the last picture with the sunrays coming through the trees and the way it shines on you.
    See you in December.

    Like

  7. Great thoughts from mom and Judy in this post. So glad that the Camino delivered on its promises in such remarkable ways. Dad would have loved it.

    Like

  8. I saw a link to your blog on the Camino forum and came over to browse… I realized that we walked the Norte/Primitivo around the same time this summer: I began walking out of Irun on Friday, June 19th, so just a bit after you. I must have passed your group at some point (I had a shorter time frame and by the end was walking really long days- it was a little crazy but I loved it!); I arrived in Santiago on July 16th.

    But I wanted to say that I loved reading through these posts, especially knowing that we were walking the same paths at pretty much the same time. Your photos were wonderful, your insights were wonderful, and congratulations on such a great Camino. The part that made me the happiest, however, was your mention (and your photo) of your two Austrian friends, Hermann and Gerhardt. I knew them too! We spent a few days on the trail/in the same towns on the Norte. They helped me so much with a huge blister on the bottom of my foot; I called them my doctors. So to see this photo of them made me so very happy.

    I blogged on the Camino as well: singlestepcamino.wordpress.com; if you have a few minutes you are welcome to read my thoughts and go through photos to see if you recognize anyone! (though one of my regrets is that I didn’t take more photos of the wonderful people I met).

    Thanks again for sharing your journey, and Buen Camino!
    Nadine

    Like

Leave a comment