Tuesday, July 28: Madrid

Ana:  We wrote this to keep our memories alive and keep our families up to date with our travels.  We never had an idea so many people would be reading this and cheering us on.  We thank you for the comments, encouragement and enthusiastic responses.  You were a part of the Camino.

Our last 2 days have been spent in Madrid.  It has given us a chance to relax the muscles, repair the feet, and slowly let our minds return to the world.  Sleeping in, short walks, long dinners, a movie and of course Sangria.  We are ready to get home.

These pictures are from Madrid.  We visited the palace, cathedral, and Plaza Mayor.  Saw a military parade welcoming dignitaries, opposite street entertainers.  A delight to the senses.

image

image image

image

image image

image  image

I can’t speak for the others, but I know I will return here someday to perhaps take another route, or finish the Del Norte.  The Camino has captured my heart.

8 thoughts on “Tuesday, July 28: Madrid

  1. Don’t have much time. Have to get to an early doctor appointment, then grocery shopping, then check on boat motor — all real world stuff. What you have done is taken us away from the real world, at least for a brief time each day. Thank you, it has been a great experience following your GREAT EXPERIENCE. Safe trip home. As I write this you are somewhere over the Atlantic heading for the U.S.
    Dennis

    Like

  2. Chuck and Carol: we really enjoyed keeping up with your adventure! Congratulations! We missed seeing you in Florida. Congrats to all FOUR on the inspiring WAY! Best from Dee and Bob

    Like

  3. You guys are amazing. Even an old Jewish guy like me found your blog inspirational, and even spiritual. (Don’t worry Rabbi, I’m not planning to convert). It made me wonder if there is a pilgrimage in Judaism that is comparable. I’ve walked the streets of the Old City in Jerusalem a couple of times. It was very moving and very spiritual, but you can’t compare a few hours to two months. Thanks for bringing us all along with you.

    One last technical question. Did you all make the entire trek using the same pair of shoes you started with?

    Like

  4. Howard, we started and finished with the same shoes. Each of us had one pair of trail shoes and one pair of Teva sandals to wear at night around town. My trail shoes began to split at the toe and the tread was worn, but they made it.
    Thanks for your comment, nothing like walking over 500 miles to clear your head and feel the presence of God. True for any religion!

    Like

  5. Dear Chuck & Carol, it was so wonderful bumping into you at the doctor’s office last Tuesday morning. In 11 days (Aug 20), Kathy Hein & I will be on our way to St. Jean Pied de Port to begin walking the French Camino. We took your advice and set up a blog at kgcamino.wordpress.com. After you told me the weight of your backpack, I went through mine doing everything possible to eliminate some weight but I’m pretty well stuck at 22 pounds, maybe slightly more. I think the difference is because of the items I have to carry because we plan to stay in the albergues but, that may change, we’ll wait and see.I can always throw stuff away. Thanks for your advice. God bless.

    Like

Leave a comment